The United Nations Office for Project Services (UNOPS)

Grete Faremo

Grete Faremo a été nommée Secrétaire générale adjointe des Nations Unies et Directrice exécutive de l’UNOPS en août 2014. Elle possède une vaste expérience, ayant occupé plusieurs postes de haut niveau au sein du gouvernement norvégien ainsi que dans le secteur privé.

Notre objectif est clair : travailler ensemble pour prendre soin de notre planète et de ses habitants.

Grete Faremo - Secrétaire générale adjointe de l’ONU et Directrice exécutive de l’UNOPS

Discours

Biographie

Grete Faremo a été nommée Secrétaire générale adjointe des Nations Unies et Directrice exécutive de l’UNOPS en août 2014. Avant cette nomination, Mme Faremo a assumé plusieurs postes à hautes responsabilités au sein du gouvernement norvégien, plus récemment celui de ministre de la Justice et de la Sécurité publique, qu’elle a occupé pendant deux ans.

Mme Faremo a été ministre de la Défense (2009-2011), ministre du Pétrole et de l’Énergie (1996), ministre de la Justice (1992-1996), ainsi que ministre de la Coopération au développement pour le ministère norvégien des Affaires étrangères (1990-1992). Elle a également été députée au Parlement entre 1993 et 1997. Pendant son premier mandat en tant que ministre de la Justice, Mme Faremo a entamé des négociations entre la Norvège et les pays membres de l’espace Schengen au sujet de la sécurité et de la libre circulation en Europe, à la suite desquelles les gouvernements du Danemark, de la Finlande, de la Norvège et de la Suède ont signé l’accord de Schengen en 1996.

En outre, Mme Faremo possède une vaste expérience dans le secteur privé, ayant été vice-présidente exécutive du groupe d’assurances norvégien Storebrand entre 1997 et 2003. De 2003 à 2008, elle a travaillé comme directrice du département juridique et des affaires générales du bureau d’Europe occidentale de la société Microsoft, poste qui lui a permis de mettre en place une division des affaires juridiques et publiques chargée d’assurer la conformité d’entreprise dans la région.

Au fil de sa carrière, Mme Faremo a été membre de plusieurs conseils d’administration, notamment celui de Norwegian Peoples’ Aid, de l’Institut norvégien de recherche pour la défense, du Competence Development Fund of Southern Norway, de Norsk Hydro ASA, de l’orchestre philharmonique d’Oslo et de l’université de Bergen.

Mme Faremo a obtenu un diplôme en droit international de l’université d’Oslo en 1978. Elle est entrée dans la fonction publique en 1979 en tant que haute fonctionnaire au ministère norvégien des Finances, puis a travaillé au sein de l’agence norvégienne de coopération au développement (NORAD) à partir de 1980, avant d’entrer au nouveau ministère de la Coopération au développement, pour lequel elle a travaillé pendant six ans.

Mme Faremo est née en 1955 à Byglandsfjord, en Norvège. Elle parle couramment l’anglais, le danois, le suédois ainsi que le norvégien, sa langue maternelle. Elle est mariée et a une fille.

Explore Further

The United Nations Office for Project Services (UNOPS)

Grete Faremo

Ms. Grete Faremo joined UNOPS as Under-Secretary-General and Executive Director in August 2014. She brings with her a wealth of knowledge and expertise, having held several high-level positions for the Government of Norway as well as years of experience in the private sector.

Our aspirations are clear – we must and can do more, together, to take care of our planet and its people.

Grete Faremo - Under-Secretary-General and UNOPS Executive Director

Biography

Ms. Grete Faremo joined UNOPS as Under-Secretary-General and Executive Director in August 2014. Before this appointment, Ms. Faremo held various senior-level positions for the Government of Norway. 

Most recently, she was Minister of Justice and Public Security; a role she held for two years.  Ms. Faremo was Minister of Defence (2009-2011), Minister of Oil and Energy (1996), Minister of Justice (1992-1996), and Minister of Development Cooperation (1990-1992) for the Norwegian Government's Ministry of Foreign Affairs.  She was elected member of Parliament from 1993 to 1997. During her first appointment as Minister of Justice, Ms. Faremo initiated negotiations between Schengen member countries and Norway on security and free movement in Europe, which culminated in the Nordic Schengen Agreement, signed in 1996 by the Governments of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden.

Ms. Faremo also brings a wealth of experience from the private sector, working as the Executive Vice President for the Norwegian insurance group, Storebrand, from 1997 to 2003. From 2003 to 2008, she held the position of Director of Law and Corporate Affairs at Microsoft Corporation's Western European Office, where she developed the legal and public affairs division responsible for corporate compliance in the region.

Ms. Faremo has sat on various advisory boards and associations throughout her career, including Norwegians Peoples' Aid, the Norwegian Defence Research Establishment, the Competence Development Fund of Southern Norway, Norsk Hydro ASA, the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra and the University of Bergen.

Ms. Faremo graduated from the University of Oslo in 1978, with a degree in Law, specializing in International law. She entered the public service in 1979 as an executive officer in the Norwegian Government's Ministry of Finance, later moving to NORAD in 1980, and the then newly established Ministry of Development Cooperation, where she worked for six years.

Ms. Faremo was born in 1955 in Byglandsfjord, Norway. She is quadrilingual, fluent in English, Danish and Swedish, aside from her Norwegian mother tongue. She is married and has one daughter.

  • 1. UNOPS Executive Director Grete Faremo visiting social housing buildings in Obrenovac, Serbia with the Mayor of Obrenovac. The housing was constructed with funding from the European Union.
  • 2. Executive Director Grete Faremo visits a UNOPS Metro project in Lima, Peru. When finalized, the Metro will provide transportation for up to one million passengers a day.